Home

I first learned of The Colbert Report not long after I got hooked on The Daily Show back in 2010. At first, I didn’t think much of it, to be honest. However, it eventually grew on me, and I came to somewhat like it, and I went in cycles of catching every episode for a time, then not even caring about it all that much. Then, just as it seemed I was getting back into it, the news broke that Stephen Colbert would be the new host of The Late Show. This made me sad when I heard it because the Report is really funny, does far more actual journalism than countless other “news” sources, and if I’m being totally honest, I’m just not all too fond of typical late night talk shows. And so, with the days of the Report numbered, I finally discovered the unique place that Colbert occupies, that odd and seemingly small intersection between politics, comedy, and geekery. I mean, who else is able to count both Henry Kissinger and Smaug as people they’ve interviewed? And I think that’s what I’m going to miss most about The Colbert Report. It combined things nobody else did, fought hypocrisy by simply restating it, and had fun all along the way. I wish only the best for Stephen, and the whole cast and crew in all their future endeavors, and thank them deeply for doing something daring, unique, and wonderful.

Leave a Reply

