Home

No, not that kind of gay, the other one. Yeah, I’m not super proud of that pun. But I figured it works for today, because honestly I’m overjoyed. A major injustice has been corrected, rights have been expanded and the human race is better off. We don’t get to say that every day. Granted there’s a lot more to do. ENDA needs to be passed, we need to combat the alarming queer youth suicide rate, as well as the homelessness rate, and then there’s just the general challenge of changing people’s minds so somebody can be gay in my own home town. Which is going to be a big challenge, loads on the Far Right are already angry and raving, but at this point I kind of don’t give a fuck. Today something great happened, a decision on par with Loving v. Virginia and Brown v. Board, a wondrous moment where the ideals of America, the basics of my country, won out and the world became just a tiny bit better. History has been made, and I’m living it, and I’m seeing a major moment in the course of human events, a moment I will tell my hypothetical children about, or nieces and nephews, or some other random children, or some teens that have gotten on lawn and won’t get off so I scream history at them while my robot raptor chases them off. (You heard me science, robot raptor, get on it.) I touched on living in history previously, of looking at it from a distance, but this time its much closer, its my own nation, my own people who are effected. There’s still a long, long, long fight ahead for queer people and their allies, and I hope that they don’t lag in any future battles, but for now I celebrate and take joy in the grand, wonderous, and yes historic moment that is June 26th, 2015.

Leave a Reply

